Your Privacy

Racing Clothesline and our service partners use cookies and similar technology on this website to provide you with services and personalised content. For details on how we use your data, please review our Privacy Policy. We also work with trusted advertising partners to show you advertisements for products and services you might be interested in. By selecting "Accept" below, you consent to these partners using third party cookies to process your information for their own purposes.

You can easily opt out of personalized ads on this device anytime using our Ad Settings page. This can be done anytime.

February 22, 2020
No Dirty Laundry, Just Motorsport News!

Home > W Series > Chadwick secures W Series title at Brands Hatch as Powell wins the race

Chadwick secures W Series title at Brands Hatch as Powell wins the race

Yup, ads are super annoying. Trust me, I get it. This isn’t one of the websites that’s going to force you to whitelist this website or hide content behind expensive paywalls. Sites like those are ruining the free internet.

However, please remember that I have bills to pay to keep this website alive and running. I enjoy doing this and spend a lot of time working on this website. The easiest thing you can do to show your support is to whitelist in your ad blocker’s settings.

Still don't want to? Then consider donating to show your support.

The first-ever W Series championship came to an end at Brands Hatch. Despite failing to finish on the podium, for the first time this season, Jamie Chadwick was able to secure the title in front of her home crowd.

Jamie Chadwick got away well from pole position. Further back, Esmee Hawkey stalled the car from ninth on the grid. No one hit her, but she dropped to the back of the field and also earned a drive-through penalty. Miki Koyama also earned herself a drive-through penalty for being out of her grid slot.

Chadwick was able to maintain the lap throughout the first lap, but Alice Powell and Emma Kimilainen weren’t going to make it easy, at the top three began to create a gap to the rest.

© W Series Limited

Ten minutes into the car, Powell launched an attack on the inside of Chadwick into Paddock Hill. The two were wheel-to-wheel down the hill. Kimilainen got right on the gearbox of Powell, following her past Chadwick in Druids. Beitske Visser was also eager to get by as well, but Chadwick was able to hold her off.

With ten minutes remaining in the race, the safety car was deployed to recover Koyama’s car. She spun and got stranded when she tried to make a U-turn to rejoin the car.

© W Series Limited

The race restarted with just five minutes remaining on the clock. Powell built a big lead after a strong restart. Crucially, Visser was finally able to force her way past Chadwick. But with just a few minutes left on the timer, it would have required a rocket to get into the lead of the race and win the championship.

As the race came to a close, it was Powell, Kimilainen and Visser who stood on the podium. But it was Jamie Chadwick who took the $500,000 grand prize and the inaugural W Series championship title by ten points over Visser.

Race Results
1 – A. Powell
2 – E. Kimilainen
3 – B. Visser
4 – J. Chadwick
5 – F. Wohlwend
6 – V. Piria
7 – J. Hawkins
8 – M. Garcia
9 – S. Cook
10 – S. Moore
11 – C. Wood
12 – T. Pepper
13 – G. Rdest
14 – V. Kesthelyi
15 – N. Schiff
16 – E. Hawkey
17 – S. Holbrook
18 – M. Gilkes
19 – S. Bovy
20 – M. Koyama

Above results table does not include any post-race penalties

Like this article? Share it with your friends:

About Wesley Branton:

Wesley is a motorsport journalist from Canada who fell in love with Formula One many years ago. His work has been featured in other major motorsport news publications.