Your Privacy

Racing Clothesline and our service partners use cookies and similar technology on this website to provide you with services and personalised content. For details on how we use your data, please review our Privacy Policy. We also work with trusted advertising partners to show you advertisements for products and services you might be interested in. By selecting "Accept" below, you consent to these partners using third party cookies to process your information for their own purposes.

You can easily opt out of personalized ads on this device anytime using our Ad Settings page. This can be done anytime.

October 16, 2019
No Dirty Laundry, Just Motorsport News!

Home > Formula 1 > W Series reveals information about the 2020 season.

W Series reveals information about the 2020 season.

Yup, ads are super annoying. Trust me, I get it. This isn’t one of the websites that’s going to force you to whitelist this website or hide content behind expensive paywalls. Sites like those are ruining the free internet.

However, please remember that I have bills to pay to keep this website alive and running. I enjoy doing this and spend a lot of time working on this website. The easiest thing you can do to show your support is to whitelist in your ad blocker’s settings.

Still don't want to? Then consider donating to show your support.

The W Series has finalized details regarding the 2020 season’s driver selection process. Many drivers will get the opportunity to race in the series again next season.

The top 12 drivers at the end of the 2019 season will automatically be given a seat in the 2020 season if they chose to accept it. The rest will also be given permission to apply for a seat and go through the selection process again, but there’s no guarantee they will make it. The debut season saw over 100 eager female applicants, so competition is fierce.

The W Series will also give drivers FIA Superlicense points starting next season. This will help drivers on their mission to progress to Formula One. It’s unclear how many points will be awarded.

The FIA Formula 3 Championship, on which the W Series regulations are based, awards the champion with 30 points. However, other regional Formula 3 championships award anything from 18 points to just 10 points.

To qualify for an FIA super license, drivers must be over 19, hold a valid road car license, pass an F1 knowledge test, complete at least 80% of two single-seater championships that award Super License points (the W Series this year does not count) and earn 40 Super License points over three seasons.

Like this article? Share it with your friends:

About Wesley Branton:

Wesley is a motorsport journalist from Canada who fell in love with Formula One many years ago. His work has been featured in other major motorsport news publications.